If nothing else, you have to give props to the The Magic Lightnin’ Boys for one thing; they have been able to make a nod to the past sound fresh and modern. Their combination of hard rock and blues should sound similar to other bands who have tried (and failed) to make this sound appealing to a generation who has heard it all, but it doesn’t. Not only does it retain a keen sense of identity at all times, it also serves as the perfect springboard for the new foursome out of Ohio. The songwriting matches that of a veteran band that have been playing together for years, and coupled with vocalist Casey Gomez’s passionate wails, it won’t be hard for them to land a strong fanbase. The funky presence of the bass throughout the entire release meshes perfectly with the organic production, especially on highlight track “Broken Dream”. Gomez emotes perfectly while reminiscing about a time that showed nothing but promise. The track takes on a slow-burning pace that explodes outward in a maelstrom of needle-sharp solos and frantic drumming at the end, and this shows the real strength of the band in general. The instruments are played in tandem, never overshadowing each other; it creates a dynamic listen that can shift from soulful and heartfelt to aggressive and boisterous. “Devil’s Lettuce” swings from a low-key, subdued soul ditty to a high-energy blues jam several times throughout the track quite naturally.

There’s certainly something to be said of the style that The Magic Lightnin’ Boys have embraced here; it hearkens back to the days when music was just a bit more simplistic. It’s a nostalgia that may not resonate with all listeners, but it will be incredibly rewarding for those who do connect to it. The inclusion of the harmonica in some songs reminds the listener of that dirty southern rock sound that the band consistently uses as an influence, but it never completely overtakes the blues sound that pervades the album. By very precisely taking these influences and injecting it with a modern approach to songwriting, the band stands at the cusp of something very exciting. The depth that the band do bring to their sound is the individual members playing with such an obvious passion coupled with the personal lyrics present throughout The Magic Lightnin’ Boys. Without the heart-rending lyrics of “Couples Skate”, it would be easy to call it the generally predictable “slow song” of the release. As it stands, it is one of the strongest vocal performances here and ranks among the best here. The most exciting track is the concluding instrumental track “Stones Throw”, which points to the band continually tweaking their formula to provide varied and interesting results. For the short amount of time that the band has been together, this is a very impressive debut that points to an ever-improving band not one bit afraid to change it up until they find their perfect sweet spot. I have no doubt that I’ll be listening to their progression until that happens; by this first release, I can’t imagine it will take much time. Soulful and passionate, The Magic Lightnin’ Boys are here to resurrect the old blues/hard rock sound and make it their own.

  11 comments for “About

  1. December 5, 2015 at 8:41 am

    If you are going for most excellent contents like me, simply go to see this website daily for the reason that it provides quality contents, thanks|

  2. December 6, 2015 at 12:53 am

    I visited multiple websites except the audio quality for audio songs present at this web site is really wonderful.|
    marinir seo

  3. December 6, 2015 at 2:34 am

    I am extremely inspired along with your writing talents well as} with the layout in your blog. Is that this a paid topic or did you modify it your self? Either way keep up the excellent quality writing, it is rare to see a nice blog like this one today..|

    • caseylgomez
      December 22, 2015 at 5:13 pm

      Thank you! Glad you like it. Stay tuned, we have a new album coming out in the Spring.

  4. December 6, 2015 at 4:19 am

    Fantastic goods from you, man. I’ve understand your stuff previous to and you are just extremely fantastic. I actually like what you have acquired here, really like what you are stating and the way in which you say it. You make it entertaining and you still take care of to keep it wise. I can not wait to read much more from you. This is really a terrific site.|

  5. December 17, 2015 at 2:43 pm

    It’s genuinely very complex in this active life to listen news on TV, therefore I simply use the web for that reason, and obtain the most recent information.|

  6. December 18, 2015 at 11:18 am

    I for all time emailed this web site post page to all my friends, since if like to read it next my friends will too.|

  7. December 19, 2015 at 1:15 am

    It’s appropriate time to make some plans for the future and it’s time to be happy. I have read this post and if I could I want to suggest you some interesting things or advice. Perhaps you could write next articles referring to this article. I want to read more things about it!|

  8. December 20, 2015 at 2:48 am

    wonderful post, very informative. I ponder why the opposite experts of this sector do not realize this. You should proceed your writing. I am sure, you have a great readers’ base already!|

  9. Jim LIne
    January 15, 2016 at 8:13 pm

    Hi guys….loved the tune Gone and the video which I saw on Facebook…came here to buy your CD and it says you don’t ship to the UK….bummer…..what can I do ?

Leave a Reply to Jim LIne Cancel reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *